Thursday, January 14, 2016

git config core.fileMode false

Problem: After moving data from a Time machine backup to a new Mac (EDIT) Actually, I copied the data to a NTFS drive and then back to a Mac, so the blame goes to NTFS, all files in a repository show up as changed files under git, even though a diff proves that their contents are unchanged.

Solution: From a tip here, it turns out that it's related to file mode (and other metadata) changes which may occur during such a restore operation (for example the UID of the user may change, I guess) the solution is to tell git to ignore the file mode


git config core.fileMode false

No comments:

Post a Comment